My Thoughts On Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter Chronicles, Sequels and Prequels

The Mortal Instruments Series

Is Cassandra Clare going too far?

With two New York Times Best Selling series under her belt (The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices), The Dark Artifices coming in 2015 and talks of a new series (update: it has now been confirmed) set two decades after The Infernal Devices called The Last Hours, some people are beginning to say that Clare is bleeding the Shadowhunter world dry and taking it for what it is worth.

Talks like have resided on the internet ever since The Mortal Instruments was extended from a trilogy to a six books series and have becomes increasingly abundant since the announcement of The Dark Artifices.

What do I think of this matter? Is Cassandra Clare taking The Shadowhunter Chronicles too far by creating so many books set in that very world? In short, No.

If Cassandra Clare can create a world that is so profound and imaginative that she can get four or forty series out of it, good for her. Long may she reign and long may she write. As long as she keeps writing great books day in and day out, I will keep buying.

On the other hand, I do understand some people scepticism. When a series grows from three books to six, essentially doubling it and then adding a prequel and a sequel series, it will ignite the cynic in many of us. It had that effect on me before I read the series.

I am a huge fan of the series so for now I don’t mind that Clare has quite a lot to write in the shadowhunting world. I don’t know about any of you guys, but or me it will be a sad day when Clare leaves the Shadowhunter world behind.

6 thoughts on “My Thoughts On Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter Chronicles, Sequels and Prequels

  1. Laura @ What's Hot? says:

    Whilst I am happy that I can read more and more about her world, I do think that she is taking advantage of a good thing and there is the risk of it all going pear shaped. If all the books are successful with unique stories then I think it’s perfectly okay to keep writing but we shall see what happens!

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      That is a very good point! While she can carry on writing it is good but if she decides to carry on when there isn’t much else to say, that will cause uproar. I suppose it is down to her in the end 🙂 x

      Like

  2. Ivana @ BookishTeens says:

    I don’t agree. I think there’s a point when a writer just needs to stop. It seems to me as if she’s just trying to make more money. But I’ve always perefered standalones over book series, so.

    This was such an interesting post to read since we have completely different opinions! 🙂

    + new Bloglovin follower 🙂

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      As I have got older, I have also started to prefer stand alones over series. Thank you for striking the balance between expressing your opposite opinion but not bashing me for having me. It is a refreshing thing to see on the internets! 😀 :3

      Also, thanks for the follow 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

