Hyped Books and Why I No Longer Want to Find Them

As a person who likes to take part in the bookish community, I follow the hype quite a lot. When I see a book that has been given so much praise and been loved by many booktubers and book bloggers that I could trust more than any random recommendation – I want to read it. Usually without even reading the synopsis.

Having read many books due to the hype this summer, I have started to question whether the hype surrounding some novels is such a good thing. A prime example of this is The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey. I read it this summer and although it was good, I genuinely don’t understand why so many people have liked this novel as much as they said so. I know we as bloggers have a huge difference in opinion at times but for mine to be so different to that of a huge crowd kind of bugged me a bit. Is it me, is it them? Then, I realized it was me.

While reading and listening to the fabulous reviews people had given this book, I didn’t realize that I, myself had put the book on a huge pedestal. Being told so many times what the book is about and how people liked it meant that I already had formed a preconceived idea about the book and loved it without reading a single page. This proved dangerous as when it came to reading it, I loved the idea of it that I had formed far more than how good the book itself could ever be. Then when I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would, in a very warped way I began to resent it. I was supposed to like it, I was told I would like it and I didn’t. A very warped sense of injustice indeed. This is probably why why TBR is so huge. I love the ideas I have formed on those books and IF I didn’t like them when I read them those very Ideas would be tainted. Meaning that I would end up disliking something I have liked for so long.

If this summer has taught me anything it is to take all reviews/hype with a pinch of salt. Even though with many of you I have over 50% of books read in common,this doesn’t mean that I will like you next favourite. On a last note, hype has worked well for me sometimes. I have read amazing books such as Ready Player One by Ernest Cline and Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. I will probably never disregard hype completely, I will just proceed with caution. Also, I would like to start finding my own gems. No need to follow the crowd all the time, right?

I would love to know what you all think about the hyped up books. I think sometimes I should form my own opinion after I have read a book, not before.

14 thoughts on “Hyped Books and Why I No Longer Want to Find Them

  1. Anne Wood says:

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance”
    between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Safari.
    Exceptional Blog!

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      Thank you for the feedback lovely! 🙂

      It really is difficult. The first two looked a bit too crowded! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 😀 xxx

      Like

  2. Raymond Dawson says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to
    this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    Like

  3. michelleandleslie says:

    i am the same. i’d read hyped up books and more likely than not i’d be all, “huh. it’s not that amazing.” and then i’d feel let down because my expectations weren’t met. thanks for commenting on my ramblings about The Immortal Rules 🙂

    -michelle @ Michelle & Leslie’s Book Picks

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I have been let down a lot lately! I have found that a few books have not lived up my expectations after such rave reviews!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 xxx ❤

      Like

  4. roroisreading says:

    I’ve enjoyed some hyped books but I knew in my gut that I would love it . If not I’m not picking it up/asking it as gift/buying it ,I’ve been burned in the past so I know how it feels. Lovely discussion

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      Agreed, I hate being burned. The last few times I have picked up books that I know are not my jam. Maybe that is where I am going wrong!

      thanks for stopping by! 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Faye M. says:

    *High five!* I’m glad to not be the only one who disliked The Fifth Wave (oh who am I kidding, I LOATHED IT!), but I definitely agree on the hype train… The 5th Wave disappointed me, The Winner’s Curse even more so, and because of that I’m just not so sure whether or not to believe the next one anymore. I’ve suddenly developed this mentality or thinking that if it’s hyped, then that means it’s suitable for the “market”, and really, the market’s general tastes don’t really coincide with mine very much.

    Great post!

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I really did not like it! The premise and the idea of it are fabulous. It disappointed me so much! :/

      I am gonna hop off the hype train. I am curious so I will check it things out but only if I know I will like without all of the hype.

      I agree hype sometimes mean that a book is suitable for the market. Mine tastes are slowly fading away from that too. Thanks for stopping by and very interesting response! xxx 🙂

      Like

  6. Brittany T says:

    Great post Alex. You already know we feel the same about The 5th wave. This is a disease that I call Hype-nitis. It’s spreads faster then a spark in a kindle pile. It’s very common. I always want to win the hyped up up books that are being given away or spoken about at the time. The genre we deal in is extremely saturated so escaping the hype is damn near impossible. But let me ask you this. Do you really want to read a post about a book that ever top reviewer has read and reviewed in the past 20 minutes. I felt pressure as a blogger to follow suit when I realized “wait a gosh darn moment! Won’t I just be re-spewing things that have already been said 20 times?” This is what I now do with hyped up books, they go on a hype wish list on amazon, then when they go on sale which they always do I grab them for $1.99. This way if I don’t like it I don’t feel super invested or pissed that I rushed out and spent 10$ on a book I don’t like (I’m a strictly kindle reader) Also as for my blog. I’m gonna post reviews about books that I want to read not what everyone else is reading. I will by some hyped up book that I know I will love like winners curse and cruel beauty bc I know that they are my type of books. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      This is such a good response. I think you are so right about the pressure the follow suite when it comes to reading a book that has been praised so much by the blogging community. At one point I used to feel so out o f the loop when I did not read something that everyone else had already had.

      I also think that you are also right about what content I would rather read. I would rather read new things. Not that there is anything wrong with reviewing hyped books. I do it myself from time to time.

      Thanks for stopping by hun, I loved your response! Xxxx

      Like

  7. Maria Pilar Albarran Ruiz says:

    I still haven’t read The Fifth Wave because of the hype itself! I always get scared if a book I want to read keeps on getting too many awesome reviews, cause I know my expectations are gonna be too high for the book to fulfill them properly. Some books do, but not all of them!

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I have read some hyped books and I loved them. The things is with books that have too much hype is that I start to build an idea in my head of what the book will be meaning that I will more than likely always love the idea in my head that I have of the books rather than the actual content it’s self.

      Thanks for stopping by Pili! 🙂 Hope you have a great day! 🙂 xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

