Bookshelves: How Do You Organise Yours?

Bookshelves, you have got to love them. Mine is the centrepiece of my bedroom and it always starts a conversation when someone comes to visit. I have always been curious to why some people organise their shelves in certain ways. I for one, have tried to organise my shelves In so many different ways but I have always turned it back to what it was. I have had them: alphabetically, rainbow shelve, by genre, by when I read them.

Here is mine… Do pardon the wall paper, I am decorating. (Still. Also, you may have seen this picture in my Feature and Follow Post)

image

It has always been organised the same. The longest I have had it out of this way is 3 weeks and it sent me crazy. Here are the steps to how mine is organised.

1. I have done then top to bottom, left to right because I can’t get all three of them in the same wall.

2. The book are organised first by how many I have by the same author. Ie. I have 29 books by Rachel Caine so she starts it off, I have 15 books by PC Cast, 10 books by LJ Smith, 8 books by Cassandra Clare and so on.

3. When it gets to the point where I have the same amount of books by multiple authors (I have a lot of finished trilogies for example) they go in order of which I read the first book.

4. If a series goes jumps up in numbers due me reading its sequels, books get shuffled along. Meaning that if I read the first book in a series in 2011 and it has 8 books, it will sit in front of Cassandra Clare’s books of which I read the 1st one in 2012.

5. The stand-alone novels are organised by order of which I read them. Which is pretty cool sometimes because I read a lot of them last year and they are all in order meaning I can see how my tastes have developed.

6. The TBR is organised in order that I bought them. Then have what I call an “imminent tbr” which consists of books I want to read really soon!

The reason I do this is because I like keeping all of my authors and series together and it also interesting to see how my tastes have developed since most of my shelves are in order of which I read the books!

So, that is how I organise mine and it will probably stay that until I attempt rainbow shelves again. How do you organise yours?

8 thoughts on “Bookshelves: How Do You Organise Yours?

  1. Mari (The Sirenic Codex) says:

    Those shelves are beautiful! I don’t have a huge physical collection as my urges are shut down by family. I still have quite a few and organize them by my favourites. The more I love a series the higher up it is. They are also together according to genre. So I have a separate shelf for paranormal and contemporary and classics. Great post 🙂

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      Bummer! 🙂 Before I started working, my parents would not allow me to get any books, so I know where you are coming from 🙂 I tried sorting mine out by genre but I could not get them right! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 xx

      Like

  2. Kristalyn @ The Sarcastic Palmtree says:

    Mine are organized by series and by favorites. I always have all the same author together as well. I need more shelves so I can see all of my books! I have them stacked 2 deep and I hate not being able to look at all of them. Thanks for the fun post! Enjoy your week!

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I remember when I got these shelves a few years ago and they were half full and there was me thinking that I would never fill them! :’) I have started stacking them above the shelves now :’)!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting back my dear! 🙂 xxx

      Like

  3. Ula @ Blog of Erised says:

    First of all: HOLEE MOSES THAT’S A LOT OF BOOKS! I don’t even have enough room for such shelves 😀 I hope I do someday though.
    And I love your organizing, it makes a lot of sense. I have them organized top to bottom left to right as well, but my all time faves come first, in order so they sit together and aren’t separated because they cover more than one shelf. Others are mostly together by author, nothing else.

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      Technically my all time faves come first because Rachel Caine is my favourite. I don’t think that was intentional though. I did them by author at one point and even though it made them easier to find, I have had my books this way for a long time so it started to annoy me them not being in the “right” place. I wish I could have them by author though!

      Thanks for stopping by hun, I am so nosey so I love it when people tell me their bookish things :3 xxx

      Like

  4. Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction says:

    My only real system is that books I have read are in one place and books I haven’t yet are in another. Oh, and I keep series together. I do have one bookcase that’s organized a bit more into genres because it has homeschooling books on it, and some non-fiction – those I keep separate from my regular fiction books. But other than that, I’m rather haphazard!

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I wish I was more like that :’) I love keeping the series together though!

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing! 🙂 xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

