Review: Half Bad by Sally Green

Title: Half Bad | Author: Sally Green | Penguin | Half Life #1 | 400 pages | Young Adult | Fantasy | 4 Stars Source: Bought and Net Galley | Release Date: March 4th 2014
Goodreads

Goodreads Synopisis
Half Bad by Sally Green is a breathtaking debut novel about one boy’s struggle for survival in a hidden society of witches.
You can’t read, can’t write, but you heal fast, even for a witch.
You get sick if you stay indoors after dark.
You hate White Witches but love Annalise, who is one.
You’ve been kept in a cage since you were fourteen.
All you’ve got to do is escape and find Mercury, the Black Witch who eats boys. And do that before your seventeenth birthday.
Easy.

Review:

Half Bad follows the story of Nathan. He is a Half Code meaning that his is half White Witch and half Black Witch. His Giving Ceremony needs to be preformed by a parent or grandparent in order for him to become a full witch, if the ceremony is not preformed Nathan will end up dying before his 18th birthday.

Overall I really enjoyed this novel. I enjoy the premise, logistics and I thoroughly enjoyed following our main character on his journey. But I did pick a few faults from it, I would rather get them out of the way first!

First of all the book didn’t start for me until page 100. It took me a while to connect with Nathan and even though there were events unfolding, I did not find them very stimulating and I just found it difficult to get in to overall. Another thing I had a problem with was the fact that we son’t discover more about Nathan’s Mother and father. We know that his mother is a White Witch and his father is a Black Witch but that is about it. Maybe it will come out in a sequel but I would have liked to have seen more in this one.

After the initial stumbling I had with this novel, I really enjoyed how it was structured. I starts off with current events, then in the next part it goes back in time to where it all began and then it goes back to current events. It all flowed really well and wrapped up nicely.

One  of the main things I liked about this novel was the logistics and concepts. White Witches, Black Witches, Whets (baby witches!), Fains (Humans) and Giving Ceremonies – This is when a witch turns 17 years old they receive three gifts  and have to drink the blood of a parent or grandparent in order to become a witch. I also liked the politics when it came to the White Witch’s council, how much they despised black witches and how corrupt they seemed!

Overall I really enjoyed this novel. It is a strong start to a promising series and I will definitely be getting the sequel (which is called Half Wild) when it comes out! 

Goodreads Average: 3.9/5 (out of 2,101 ratings)

Want to buy it? Amazon UK | Amazon US | The Book Depository

 

12 thoughts on “Review: Half Bad by Sally Green

  1. Amanda says:

    Heard many mixed feeling about this book. I will eventually read is, as I am a huge fan of witches and the such, but I think I will wait a bit so the sequel is closer to being released.

    Good review!
    -Amanda @ Escaping Reality Within Pages

    Like

  2. Jenna (@RatherReadYA) says:

    I’ve had this one on my TBR for a while and I was really interested in it. Then when it came out, I just had no interest in reading it all of a sudden. I don’t know why. I’ll probably give it a try sometimes though.

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I am glad I am not the only one who does that. When I buy books, I usually do not read them until I have finished my current read. Every now and again, I lose interest by the time I come to them!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 xx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I loved the concept more than the characters and the idea of the witches is so good!

      Thanks for stopping by! Xxx

      Like

  3. Faye M. says:

    Thank you for your honest thoughts, Alex! I read this one months ago already, and while it was a good book for me, I found many faults in it as well – the pacing being one of them. What did you think of Annaliese, the love interest, by the way?

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I didn’t really comment on the romance because I did not rate it. I though she was dull and I did not really see why they were together. I found that it was a bit of instalove! :/

      What did you think, my dear?

      Thanks for stopping by! ❤ xx

      Like

      • Faye M. says:

        I found it dull as well. She was such a doormat! 😡 I didn’t see what Nathan saw in her, and I wish he fell in love with a strong-willed female who could help him with his troubles >_<

        Like

      • alexsarahlouise says:

        I am glad someone felt the same as me! I can see why people like this and I am curious to see where it goes as I do like the world. I think a strong woman would have done him so much good! What kind of love interests lets her brothers hurt their other half! xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

