April Favourites: Diversity, Fan Art, Feeling Dumb & The Morganville Series!

As I have been travelling round the Internet this month, I have slowly but surely been gathering things that have caught my attention, so I decided to put them all in a list for your reading pleasure and call it a monthly favourites. Sometimes they are book related and other times I found them on Tumblr (need I say more?) Enjoy!

This Month in: Articles

The “Divergent” Rape Scene: Here’s Why It Matters  written by Beth Lalonde

This is something that I never though of and a very well written piece about the Divergent rape scene. I found this at the start of the month and I still remember it’s message and how well thought out it was!

Diversity Is Not Enough: Race, Power, Publishing written by Daniel Jose Older

It says it in the title. Diversity is not enough. I never really thought about how much the YA world especially lacks in diversity. Whether be LGBT’s authors/characters or people of colour. This made me consciously think about what I read and who it comes from. I urge you all to read it!

This Month in: Fan Art

I found this on Klondaire’s Tumblr and it was originally created by Kasami-Sensei and posted on his Deviantart page. Go check out the rest of his Disney-Walking Dead crossover art and his gallery. It is absolutely stunning and has to be one of my all time favourites!

This Month In: Quotes

I found this one on the-gwendolyn-reading-method‘s tumblr and even though I have never read a Terry Pratchet book, I sure want to read one now!

“There was a pregnant pause. It gave birth to a lot of little pauses, each one more deeply embarrassing than its parent.”

— Terry Pratchett, Going Postal

Another quote I found on this tumblr and there is some beautiful, original poetry on there and it goes like so:

“For a star to be born, there is one thing that must happen: a gaseous nebula must collapse.

So collapse.
Crumble.
This is not your destruction.

This is your birth.”

This Month in: The Blogosphere & Bookish News

Relationships Beyond Romance in YA: Family written by P.E and Mari over at The Sirenic Codex

This really made me think about when I review a book and how I read it. One aspect that I never comment on is family. An article exploring YA families, relationships and our favourite YA families overall truly was interesting!

(APRIL FOOLS!) 5 Star Review – Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary  written by Nicole over at Feed Your Fiction Addiction 

I enjoyed this so much! 🙂 I am not a huge fan of April Fools but this is definitely my kind of prank!

Geek & Sundry Adds Vampire Adaptation ‘Morganville: The Series’ (Exclusive) written over at The Hollywood Reporter

Morganville is getting made in to a series!!!! One of my favourites series of all time is going to be on screen and I can’t wait. The set and the characters look amazing!

On the Perils of Feeling Dumb While Reading written by Swapna Krishna over at  Book Riot

I have a tendency of feeling inadequate sometimes while I am reading and to some extent, feeling a little bit stupid. I am glad someone spoke out about this!

The 15 Most Anticipated YA Books Publishing In May written over at Epic Reads

So many books this month! We Were Liars, City of Heavenly Fire, After the End, Morgan Matson’s newest! I can’t wait for this months reads!

Heir of Fire cover revealed! (I saw this on Goodreads!)

This is so pretty. I have the 1st, 2nd and prequel to this series so I am gonna have to read it before this comes out!

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3)

This Month in: Youtube

What If Money Were No Object? – Alan Watts

This will always be one of my favourite videos. I watched it over a year ago and it still stays with me!

New Bell’s South Africa TV Ad — The Reader

From favourite video, to favourite advertisement. As a reader this makes me feel so warm inside!

So these are all my favourite things that I found in the month of April! I did not realize while I was saving links that I had so many. I hope you enjoyed some of my finds and let me know what you think in comments! 

Leave a Reply

