Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: My Life Next Door | Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick | Dial Books | My Life Next Door #1 | 5 Stars | Source: Gifted | 394 pages Young Adult | Contemporary
Release Date: June 14th 2012
Goodreads

Goodreads Synopsis:

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

Review:

I read this book for the Bout of Books 10 and despite the fact that it was nearly 400 pages, I sped trough it in a day! Just a quick note that I absolutely adored this one. I really enjoyed the plot and the contrast when it came to both of the families. On the one hand you have Samantha and her family who is perfect. Perfect grades, image, house and finances. Then you have the Garrets who are completely the opposite.

I kinda went in to this novel knowing that I would like it. I have heard amazing things about it and the whole premise had me months before I even got this book. It did surprise me with how much I liked it. Not only did I have a sweet summertime contemporary, but I think this novel provided a lot of social commentary.

For example, the differences between the Garrett’s and Samantha’s family. Samantha’s mother does not like the Garrett’s she thinks they have too many children, messy and noisy. It is a huge case of snobbery. She looks down on them all the way through the novel. It is something see everyday. Another thing I noticed was in scenes where Mrs. Garrett was shopping with her children, people were telling her what to do with her children. It is so infuriating when people think they have the right to meddle in other peoples business!

A quick note about one of my favourite characters: Tim. He is suffering from addiction and I found it incredibly interesting how his parents dealt with that, in the way they actually didn’t and just glossed over it. So many people do this and I love how the whole situation was presented.

Overall, I loved this book and it has to be one of my favourite contemporaries. I think the social commentary that comes in to play not only question my judgements but also everyone else’s right to do so, the fact that being rich doesn’t necessaries mean financial success. Also the healthy consenting and communicating relationships is something that YA needs more of. I can’t sing this novels praises enough.

Β Goodreads Average: 4.06/5 (out of 40,351 ratings)

What to buy it? Amazon UK | Amazon US | The Book Depository

EXTRAS

This was supposed to be a quickie review but I ended up writing to much. Now I have to add extras because I have even more to say!

WE ARE GETTING A SEQUEL! Looks like the next one is from Tim’s perspective which I am absolutely ecstatic about! I can’t wait to see more about his back story!

9 thoughts on “Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      You are not the first person to say this. I have only ever heard good reviews for it. I am glad I have swayed you! πŸ™‚

      I hope you enjoy and that you get your hands on it soon! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by! xx

      Like

  1. Faye M. says:

    I’m so happy to see such a positive review of this book! I’ve seen it around but most of the reviews I’ve seen were pretty lukewarm and so-so in their responses. I appreciate it when books give room to make us think about the social issues we have today. Plus that clear division between the two parties? Yeah, definitely. And wow, parents who are actually doing an effort for their kids! Not to undermine that but seriously in YA fiction they’re almost always absent. I’m glad that’s not the case here. Awesome review, lady! πŸ™‚

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I can understand if someone does not like it. It is kinda insta love but they have been watching each other for a long time so they know eachother quite well in that respect. And, I know! The presence of parents that were active characters was astounding! I loved it and the contrast between all of the parents we saw.

      Maybe I loved it so because of the parts that make you think. These days it is more than parents that bring up the kinds unfortunately (sometimes).

      Thanks for stopping by lovely! πŸ˜€ Xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

