50 Books Challenge: An Update!

Since we are just over half way through the year, I wanted to give you all an update to my 50 books challenge! This is as of 14/07 so I may have read a couple more until then. This one is scheduled due to me taking part in the Wicked Wildfire Read-a-thon hosted by My Shelf Confessions!

So, here is the damage:

 

 

I am not going to lie, I wanted to have read more by this point. However, once you put the books altogether likes this in a list there is a quite a bloody lot! Also, I don’t think any of these books were below three stars so I have done pretty well this year! There are also a lot of sequels, TBR and review books on there with only 9/39 being newly bought ones!

If the years continues at this pace I will read around 80 books. I would love to hit 100 since I have spent the past few years trying that but if the quality of the reads remains this high, I will be happy no matter what number I hit!

How are your guys challenges going? Let me know in the comments! πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “50 Books Challenge: An Update!

  1. michelleandleslie says:

    you’re 78% done!! congrats!! πŸ™‚ i’m also doing the goodreads challenge and i’m hoping to read 100 books this year. i’m at 65%. it’s pretty good i think but i was really hoping to read more this summer. unfortunately, i didn’t and i’m back to work this coming monday. sigh.

    -michelle @ Michelle & Leslie’s Book Picks

    Like

    • Alex @ The Shelf Diaries says:

      I know! I am not doing too bad considering I was prepared for slumps this year!

      I have just took on more work and to be honest, I think my summer reading is going to go down the drain! :/

      Thanks for stopping by lovely! πŸ˜€ xxx

      Like

  2. Alice says:

    My GR challenge goal for this year is 35 because that’s what it was last year and I ended up only finishing 33. So I figured that I would just keep it the same and try again. Currently I’m up to 23 finished books so that puts me about 4 books ahead of schedule. I’ve got a vacation coming up before the end of the summer so I’m hoping to get even further ahead so that I don’t have to be stressed about it as the year ends and I have less time to read…I mean if I have less time to read. Ha ha! That’s what happened last fall!
    πŸ™‚ Alice

    Like

    • Alex @ The Shelf Diaries says:

      That is soo good! πŸ™‚ Congrats! I love getting ahead when it comes to books when I am on vacation! The Fall & winter are always the worst times for me when it comes to reads! :/ I never seem to find time!

      I hope you meet your goal! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by lovely! πŸ˜€ xxx

      Like

  3. Kristalyn @ The Sarcastic Palmtree says:

    This is my first year doing the GR challenge and I thought 50 would be too many for me honestly but I have read 38 of my 50 so I am only 1 behind you! Yippee for us! I will set my goal higher next year probably just to see if I can do it. We will see how many I get to overall this year and go off that number I suppose! Great job!

    Like

  4. Faye M. says:

    It’s definitely a lot if you put them side by side. Haha. I think I’ve read almost 90 books, which is a loud cry from what it’s supposed to be if I followed my original challenge. I think mine was supposed to be 200, but I was finding it SUPER hard to keep up, so I opted for a more safer number – 150 ^^

    I hope you reach it as soon as you can! (And when you do, update it with a larger number? πŸ˜‰ )

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

    • Alex @ The Shelf Diaries says:

      I love doing it that way! it makes me feel so productive!

      It is so good that you have reached 150. I wish I could get to that number! Yes! I am thinking of increasing it to around 75 which is still decent!

      Thanks for stopping by lovely! I hope you reach your goals! πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. natcleary says:

    You are doing so good!!! Well done. πŸ™‚ You have read some amazing books as well. Mine says You have read 93 of 100 books so I’m about 38 ahead of schedule. I read 170 last year but with blogging I’m not reading as much.

    Like

  6. P.E. (@TheSirenicCodex) says:

    I’ve read the same amount of books as you! Except um, I was hoping to read 100 books so I’m 16 behind schedule. There’s still hope though, right? And wow no book under 3 stars is amazing. I’ve had a pretty up and down year. :/

    Like

    • Alex @ The Shelf Diaries says:

      WOOOO! Well done! πŸ™‚ and in the back of my mind, I always want to read 100 books! and yes it has been good but as soon as this was posted, I has a nasty 2.5! Really did not like it at all! :/!

      Thanks for stopping by! xxx

      Like

  7. Rashika says:

    I have my GR challenge and my own challenge that lurks in the back of my mind which I don’t think I’ll achieve this year *cries*.

    I challenged myself to read 200 books and I am only a couple books away from completing that goal so there is that! πŸ˜€ But I really wanted to read 300 because I read over 300 last year *sigh*

    BUT YOU’VE ALMOST COMPLETED YOUR GOAL! πŸ˜€ YAY! You can do this! and you have half a year left (or a little less than that) but you might just make the 100!

    Good luck, Alex!! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Alex @ The Shelf Diaries says:

      I would love to read 200 books a year! That would clear my TBR and let me get more books! ;D

      I really want to try for 100. I always end up reading around 70! I will make this! :3

      Thanks for stopping by my dear! πŸ˜€ xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

