Why I Am Quitting The Star Ratings

A lot of people have been doing this lately and I think there is some kind of bandwagon forming.

As of late, I have read a lot of books that warrant a lower rating than my average but I still enjoyed them so much that I ended up giving it 5 stars. I think it is getting more and more difficult to give books star ratings. Each book has it own merits and I am slowly starting to dislike how I’m boxing my books into star ratings.

I look at my shelf sometimes where I have a lot of 5 star books but none of have that for the same reasons. I am also quite forgiving with books when it comes to ratings so sometimes I would push to say that I feel that my star ratings are not trustworthy sometimes!

So, all this comes down to me getting rid of start ratings and just saying whether I would recommend or not.

What are your thoughts on the whole saga with star ratings?

6 thoughts on “Why I Am Quitting The Star Ratings

    • Alex @ The Shelf Diaries says:

      Sometimes I went with feelings and other times I went with comparisons. I think I am just gonna say whether I recommend the series, will continue with it and if I would read it again. I am not feeling the stars at the moment!

      Thanks for stopping by lovely! πŸ™‚ xxx

      Like

  1. Heena Rathore P. says:

    Even I feel that 1-5 stars are just not enough as a rating system on the whole!
    I’ve started giving 1/2 star ratings to aptly rate a book. There are so many good books, but not all are 5 stars, you know, some are 5 whereas some are 4-1/2. There’s a very thin line, but it just sort of gives me an edge while rating πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

