Showcase Sunday #2: The #VintageClassics Edition

Showcase sundayHello and welcome to Showcase Sunday. SS is a weekly blog hop hosted by Vicky over at Books, Biscuits and Tea where we showcase what books and bookish things we have received in the past week. You can tell you are a party animal when you celebrate something by buying yourself some books. This week I was in Costco and I saw two beautiful boxed sets. They were Vintage Classics editions of old favourites with stunning redesigns! I have taken them out to take pretty pictures of them for you. Enjoy. Clicky the images for Goodreads! If you follow me on my Instagram, you may have already seen these! These are all the books with just the spines.

So Pretty

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

 

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

 

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

 

Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransom

 

Treasure Island by R.L Stevenson

 

The Silver Sword by Ian Serraillier

Such pretty covers! I am looking forward to reading them (with great care!). This has been my week in books. Leave me link below so I can see what you got this week!

27 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday #2: The #VintageClassics Edition

  1. Camille @ Girl meets Books says:

    I love the new covers! It’s exciting whenever such classics are reinterpreted whether through their covers or other authors re-interpreting their stories in some other way. Thanks for sharing and thanks for dropping by my Sunday Post 🙂

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I completely agree! It is so good when they are trying to attract a new audience! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! xx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I am looking forward to picking them up! I love that so many people find these stories special! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 xxx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I think the other one is a pretty as the first one. I don’t know how many there are I will have to check! 🙂 I hope there is more :3

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 xxx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I am hugely proud of them. I wasn’t even planning on buying them though so I broke the ban!

      Thanks for stopping by my dear! 🙂 xxx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      I love it when covers have a redesign especially when it is to take on a new audience. Some of them are stunning too! have you seen the Penguin Drop Caps editions. I got Pride and Prejudice. So pretty! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!! 🙂 xx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      Mine is Amazons and Swallows. Maybe it is the blue. I love the Little Women one too! 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and happy reading to you too! 🙂 xxx

      Like

  2. marlastnc says:

    Oh, my gosh! I love The Secret Garden and that edition is so striking. I might have to buy my own copy to join my pretty velveteen-covered one.

    Thanks for stopping by yesterday. I’m enjoying your blog and it looks like we have similar taste in books. Already following via Bloglovin’, so I’m sure to see more of your posts in the future.

    Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      They are so pretty! The Filters don’t do them justice. You do that. I got both of the box sets in Costco!

      We really do have similar tastes in books. It is nice to see your take on things. I am also following you so we shall probably speak soon! 🙂 ❤ xx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      When I bought them, you couldn’t see the covers because of the box set was covered in plastic that I was not allowed to take off. Luckily there are stunning ;D xxx

      Thanks for stopping by chick! 🙂 xxx

      Like

    • alexsarahlouise says:

      Swallows and Amazons is mine too. I think it is the shades of blue that do it for me!

      Thanks for stopping by and brilliant post about YA and families by the way! 🙂 xxx

      Like

  3. Jessica @ a GREAT read says:

    Oh those are absolutely lovely! I’ve read a few of these myself in my childhood days! Hope you enjoy them all!

    My STS will be up tomorrow, so be sure to stop by then!

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

